June Update on the Suburban Farm

So, first off, I know it’s been a while since I last posted.  Between being busy planting, raising a baby (now 8 months old), and working for a living, writing it all down kind of has fallen by the wayside.

First, an update on the actual planting I did.  I went big, and have fallen a little short.  My original 10’x20′ garden was turned into a 20×40 when I put out stakes to mark my plot.  That turned into 20×50(ish) when I tilled it.  It’s 50-ish since I tilled it with a partially broken tiller (see posts below) and the end of the garden plot is more of a triangle.  I have attached below what has actually been planted to date.  I changed the three sisters garden and added another row to hopefully have a bigger harvest.  As you can see, I have only a fraction of what I planned on my list.  It’s getting late, but I might be able to still plant something in that huge empty space in the middle of the garden.

The Farm - 2013 - Actual

 

Also, here is another resident of the suburban farm.  I hope he continues to catch and eat up small mammals that threaten to eat my hard earned dinner.  Makes it a lot easier for me, since I don’t have to try all those less than 100% effective methods of pest deterrent or removal.

IMG_0001

 

 

I have a lot more to post, but I’m a little overwhelmed with what else to talk about, so I’m going to collect my thoughts and try to put them down in a coherent way that doesn’t ramble on for 10 pages.  More to come later.

Leave a Reply

